Since taking over as President of the New South Wales Branch in May 2015 the Branch Committee has been reviewing the needs of Members and seeking ways in which to improve the services to Members.

The New South Wales Branch also encompasses the Members from the Australian Capital Territory.

During the past year, the Committee continued to reach out to members representing the Cinema, Production and Post Production sectors of the industry, in an attempt to increase the membership of the NSW Branch Committee.

Following the appointment of Jenny Ward and Antonia Barnard in 2016, I am pleased to advise that Michael Selwyn offered his services during this past year and has now joined the Committee.

Sadly though, we had to report the passing of our much loved and respected John Hartman. John had courageously carried on in recent years, despite strokes and other debilitating health issues and continued to participate in as many Industry activities as possible, including as a Committee member of the NSW/ACT Branch.

All who knew him will sadly miss John.

Representatives on the NSW/ACT Branch Committee for 2017/2018 are:

John Rochester – President

Bruce Leonard – Secretary/Treasurer

Murray Forrest

Wendy Patterson

Jenny Ward

Antonia Barnard

Michael Selwyn

The Branch finances have been extremely limited in recent years and with losses resulting from the Luncheons in each year since 2013, there were insufficient funds to responsibly hold the 2017 luncheon.

At that time, only sufficient funds were on hand to cover our responsibilities to the National Body for the then Branch contribution towards the Annual Bulletin.

Due to the cancellation of the 2017 Luncheon, there was no New South Wales Cinema Pioneer of the Year awarded for this year.

The Committee invited the National President, Tim Read, to attend the Branch meetings, to get an insight into the issues that confronted the Branch and its finances.

We are delighted to report that since then Tim has addressed the situation Nationally and following a very successful National Executive Committee meeting in May, is now introducing a completely different method of allocation of the Society’s resources to all State Branches. These insightful changes are reported elsewhere.

From the measures introduced, the Branch can plan the future with more certainty. The Branch Luncheon will be recommenced in 2018 and it is hoped that with the improved communications with Members, attendances will exceed the 80 or so who generally attend from over 1200 Branch Members, which represents around 46% of the total National Membership.

In the past year we have had 33 New Members join the Society, bringing the total number of members in NSW and the ACT to 1235.

Tim’s energy and determination to assist the Branches is gratefully acknowledged and the Branch will continue to work closely with the National Body to improve

the future of the NSW/ACT Branch. The newly appointed National Secretary/Treasurer Sandra Alexander will assist Tim in this task. Welcome Sandra.

On behalf of all Members of the NSW/ACT Branch we extend to Bruce Leonard a very sincere thank you for his stewardship of the duties as National Secretary/Treasurer of the Society for the past 25 years. We are truly indebted to you Bruce.

Finally, the NSW/ACT Branch is delighted to advise that Bruce will continue as Secretary/Treasurer of the Branch and provide the continuity necessary as we embark on a new era.

John Rochester

President – NSW Branch

20 September 2017