At the National Executive Committee Meeting held in Sydney on Wednesday May 25, 2016 National President Robert Slaviero proposed that the tenure of the National President of the Australian Cinema Pioneers be extended to a minimum of two years, commencing in November 2016, at the time when 2017 National President Elect Tim Read assumed the Presidency. The proposal was adopted by the meeting, and Tim Read agreed to serve for the extended period.


It was also agreed that a second meeting of the National Executive Committee is to be held early in November, at which time it is hoped that the much anticipated re-draft of the “Australian Cinema Pioneers’ Constitution” will have been re-drafted, reviewed and signed-off by Robert Slaviero before his tenure as National President ends at the 2016 Annual Dinner.


Following the success of the 82nd Anniversary Dinner in November 2015, the meeting was advised that the Year 2016 Annual Dinner is to be held once again in the Blaxland Ballroom at the SWISSOTEL (opposite the State Theatre) in Sydney on Wednesday, November 23.


Peter Fenton, who is regarded as Australia’s most prolific and successful sound mixer of feature films, has been unanimously elected 2016 National “Cinema Pioneer of the Year”.  Peter has been responsible for the sound tracks of more than 200 Australian movies since the early 1970s.

His Chief Mixer credits include Caddie, Sunday Too Far Away, Newsfront, Picnic At Hanging Rock, The Getting of Wisdom, The Odd Angry Shot, Gallipoli, Phar Lap, The Year of Living Dangerously, Evil Angels, The Russia House, Lightning Jack, I.Q.and Six Degrees of Separation.  In 2012 he was the recipient of an OAM for services to the Australian Film Industry.


The National Membership Report revealed that 123 applicants (120 in 2015) had been accepted for membership of the Australian Cinema Pioneers in the past twelve months – (53 from NSW and the ACT / 36 from Victoria /19 in Queensland / 11 in South Australia / 4 in Western Australia / and none in Tasmania).